How to Turn Off Location Services on an iPhone

How to Turn Off Location Services on an iPhone

This eMinds CA teaches you how to prevent your iPhone from reaching your geographic location and how to send it to apps like Uber or Facebook.

Disabling All Location Services

Open the settings of your iPhone. This is a gray coke icon on your home screen, which is displayed as an app or in a folder called “utilities”.

Scroll to the third group of options and tap Privacy.

Select Location Services.

Leave the Green Location Services switch on the “off” position. It should be gray Your iPhone will no longer automatically share your location with any of your apps.

Disabling Location Services for Specific Apps

Open the settings of your iPhone. This is the gray gear icon on one of your home screens. It can also be in a folder called “Utility”.

Scroll to the third group of options and tap Privacy.

Select Location Services.

Select an app. All location service-application apps are listed under the “Share location” option on this page.

For example, you can tap the camera to change the location setting for the camera app.

Review the location sharing options of your selected apps. Depending on the application you selected, your options may be different from the following:

Never – do not allow this app to know your location anytime.

When using – allow this app to know only your location while using it. Some apps will not have this option.

Always – Always let this app know your location, even if you are using it or not. Some apps will not have this option.

Choose your preferred option. If you are trying to disable location services altogether, you will never want to opt for your selected app.

Tap <Location Services. It’s in the top left corner of your screen.

Repeat this process for all favorite apps. By doing so, you will be able to turn off location services for some apps, while enabling them to be enabled for others.

Disabling Location Services for Specific System Services

Open the settings of your iPhone. The Settings app is the Gray Gear-shaped icon on one of your iPhone’s home screens (or in a folder called “Utilities”).

Scroll to the third group of options and tap Privacy.

Select Location Services.

Tap Share My Location. This option is below the “Location Services” switch.

Share the green slides My Location switch left on the “off” position. It should be gray, indicating that you will no longer be able to send your location in the Messages app.

This “Find My Friends” iCloud feature will also be disabled.

Tap <Location Services. It’s in the top left corner of your screen.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and tap System Services. From here, you can disable background processing like “Compass calibration”, “Location-based Alerts” and “Popular Near Me” feature.

Slide the green switch next to the system service left for the “off” position. It should be gray, indicating that your selected system service will no longer use your location.

For example, if you want to turn off Location Services for “Emergency SOS” system service, then you will slide the green switch forward to the left.
Repeat this process for each system service you want to disable. When you’re done, your iPhone will no longer route location services for your selected system services.

Leave a Reply