How to Delete a Contact

When you do not make a plan compatible with a certain person or user through telephone, email, or social media, you can delete the special contact you can use from those apps that you use most. This is a simple process that requires only a few steps, no matter what device you use.

Deleting a Contact on iPhone

Open the “Contacts” app on your iPhone.

Navigate to and tap on the contact you want deleted from your phone.

Tap on “Edit” in the top right corner of your contact’s Info screen.

Scroll down to the Edit screen and tap “Delete contact”.

When you want to delete the contact, tap on “Delete contact” to confirm it. That special contact will now be removed from your iPhone.

Deleting a Contact in Gmail

Log into your Gmail account at https://mail.google.com/.

Click “Gmail” in the top left corner of your session and select “Contact”.

Place a checkmark next to the name of the contact you want to delete.

Click the “More” button and select “Delete contact”. The contact you selected will now be permanently deleted from your Gmail account.

Deleting a Contact in Windows 8

Tap or click on the “Start” icon of your Windows 8 device.

Tap or click on “People.”

Type the name of the contact you want to delete in the given search field.

Tap or click the name of the contact you want to delete when it appears in a search.

Swipe from the bottom edge of the screen to access additional options.

If you are using a mouse, right-click anywhere within the People app to access additional options.

Tap or click on “Delete”. The contact you choose will now be removed from your people, mail and calendar applications in Windows.

Deleting a Contact in Windows 7 / Vista

Click on the “Start” button on your Windows 7 or Windows Vista computer.

Click on “All Programs” and select “Windows Contacts.”

Navigate to the contact you want to remove from a Windows contact.

Right-click the contact you want to delete and select “Delete”. The contact you removed will no longer be available in Windows Contacts or in Windows Mail.

Deleting a Contact on Blackberry Devices

Select the “Contact” icon from the home screen of your BlackBerry device.

Navigate to the contact you want to remove from your Blackberry.

Press Blackberry on your device. The blackberry key has the image of the Blackberry logo.

Select “Delete” from the list of given options. The contact you have chosen to delete will no longer be available in your Contacts app.

Deleting a Contact from Yahoo Mail

Log in to your Yahoo Mail account at https://login.yahoo.com/config/mail.

Click on the arrow next to the “Address Book” located in the bottom part of your Yahoo Messenger list.

Navigate to the contact you want to remove from Yahoo Mail.

Right-click the contact you want to delete and select “Delete”.

Select “yes” when you ask if you want to delete that particular contact. The contact you choose will no longer appear in Yahoo Mail or Yahoo Messenger.

Deleting a Contact on Facebook

Sign in to your Facebook account at https://www.facebook.com/.

Go to the “Friends” list in the left pane of your Facebook profile.

Click on the contact or friend’s profile that you want to remove from Facebook. Your contact’s timeline and profile page onscreen will be displayed.

Point to the button labeled “Friend” at the top of the contact’s Facebook timeline.

Select “Unfriend” from the list of options given. Going forward, that contact will no longer appear in your Facebook timeline, and your own Facebook profile will also be removed from the timeline of that particular contact.

Deleting a Contact on Twitter

Log in to your Twitter account at https://twitter.com/.

Navigate or click on the profile of the contact that you want to remove from your Twitter timeline.

Point to the blue button labeled “Follow” on the top of the Twitter Timeline of the contact. The button will change to read “Unfollow”.

Click the “unfollow” button. That special contact will no longer be displayed in your Twitter timeline.

Deleting a Contact on LinkedIn

Sign in to your LinkedIn account at https://www.linkedin.com/.

Click on the “Connections” tab on your LinkedIn profile.

Click the name of the contact you want to remove from LinkedIn. The linkedin profile onscreen will be displayed to that person.

Click the arrow next to “Send Message” at the top of the contact’s profile.

Click on “Remove connection” from the list of options provided.

To remove the contact, click “Remove” to confirm. Then that person will be permanently deleted from your LinkedIn profile.


Creative Commons License

Leave a Reply